Wintery beach dares and new purply hairdids

Yes dear reader, the time has come to find out exactly what Husband challenged himself to last weekend, remember I left my last blog post on that note? Well, you’ll see below – just spot the pic that doesn’t look Wintery. Actually that’s not much of a hint as the weather was delightful last weekend!

You’ll also see my slightly different hair, as mentioned last week – it’s a little shorter, layered and a reddy/purple tint in full sun, just looks really dark in your average indoor setting, which matches the Wintery mood, much like I did last year – click here for a reminder of the 2014 version and get scrolling below…

Saturday, 1 August 2015: Sunny beach visits and slurping thick shakes

Doesn't that look positively Summery? We thought so...
Doesn’t that look positively Summery? We thought so…
You can see the reddy/purple glint of my hair in this one.
You can see the reddy/purple glint of my hair in this one.
Yummest! The Milo-peanut butter shake at Driftwood Cafe went down a treat on Saturday afternoon.
Yummest! The Milo-peanut butter shake at Driftwood Cafe went down a treat on Saturday afternoon.
Husband opted for a vanilla with double tot of whisky.
Husband opted for a vanilla with double tot of whisky.

Sunday, 2 August 2015: Breakfast at Maestro’s on Woodbridge Island, doggy beach walks and Wintery sea dunks

It was out first time at Maestro's. Look at that glorious view of the mountain!
It was out first time at Maestro’s. Look at that glorious view of the mountain!
Husband scrounged this up from the buffet and was too full to try the cold option (yoghurt, fruit salad and muesli).
Husband scrounged this up from the buffet and was too full to try the cold option (yoghurt, fruit salad and muesli).
Which is exactly what I had, the health breakfast and a cappuccino.
Which is exactly what I had, the health breakfast and a cappuccino.
Look at those happy faces, as they know walking vests mean they're going to the beach!
Look at those happy faces, as they know putting on their walking vests means they’re going to the beach!
I titled this photo “Family from behind”. Lol. I was surprised Bassie was trotting along with her dad and brother, she usually stands back with Mommy while they go leaping in the waves.
Sandy chin instead of sandy nose this time, in Bassie’s standard “I had a long walk on the beach so I’m a very happy girl” photo.
Look! That little pink dot in the swirling seas is Husband! Facebook reminded him that he did something similar two years ago, so we waited until it seemed the warmed point of the day, he held his breath, took a running leap and immersed himself. He was NOT in for long, but met his dare challenge as there was no time specification :)
Look! That little pink dot in the swirling seas is Husband! Facebook reminded him that he did something similar two years ago, so we waited until it seemed the warmest point of the day, then he held his breath, took a running leap and immersed himself. He was NOT in for long, but successfully met his dare challenge 🙂
For our Sunday afternoon treat we stopped in at Schwarma Express right on the beach. Husband had a draught...
For our Sunday afternoon treat to celebrate his successful dunk we stopped in at Schwarma Express right on the beach. Husband had a draught…
I tried the 'Whale Tale Ale' with carmel hints as there were no bottles of Van Hunks pumpkin cinnamon stuff. Interesting flavour but still a beer, if only 3.5% alcohol...
I tried the ‘Whale Tale Ale’ with carmel hints as there were no bottles of Van Hunks pumpkin cinnamon stuff. Interesting flavour but still a beer, if only 3.5% alcohol…
Husband tucking into his curry, behind Mum's mini chilli tree.
Husband tucking into his curry, behind Mum’s mini chilli tree.
Milo with sprinkles! Flapjacks with whipped cream and strawberries! Mmm.
Milo with sprinkles! Flapjacks with whipped cream and strawberries! Mmm.
Suburban sunset, taken from Mum and Dad's patio on Sunday eve.
Suburban sunset, taken from Mum and Dad’s patio on Sunday eve.

Monday, 3 August 2015: IMC Conference day 1

Another two-day conference at the IMC always starts with my 'which flowers are on display at the reception desk' shot.
Another two-day conference at the CTICC always starts with my ‘which flowers are on display at the reception desk’ shot. What’s the IMC, you ask? It’s the Integrated Marketing Communication conference. Click here for my highlights of day one…
Day one tea time treats included a cappuccino and cinnamon twirly pastry.
Day one tea time treats included a cappuccino and cinnamon twirly pastry.

Tuesday, 4 August 2015: IMC day 2 and Bertie waits and waits

The second day of conferencing led to this snap - yip, that's me on the cover of Cosmo, the photographer told me how to pose - and really delicious pink smoothies in shot glasses.
The second day of conferencing led to this snap – yip, that’s me on the ‘cover’ of Cosmo, and really delicious pink smoothies in shot glasses. Click here for my highlights of day two.
Aww, look how sweet! I was a little late getting home as I had scheduled interviews with some of the IMC speakers, Husband took this to show me how Bertie was watching through the doggy door for me.
Aww, look how sweet! I was a little late getting home as I had scheduled interviews with some of the IMC speakers once the conference folded, Husband took this to show me how Bertie was watching through the doggy door for me.

On that note, we break for the next weekend of fun deeds, with the added joy of an extra day this time around, it’s time for the happy dance! Hope you have a wonderful Women’s Day, all! 🙂

PS: Weekly blog post standards of milkshake, check, sunset, check, beach visit, check! Triple success.

PPS: Next week’s post may be a little delayed as I’ll be on the warmer shores of Durban, covering Loeries Creative Week. Eep.

2 thoughts on “Wintery beach dares and new purply hairdids”

Leave a comment