Doggie digging, Dad’s 65th birthday brekkie & hugging light houses

August is truly a month of celebrations in our household, what with my dad, mom, and mom-in-law all having a birthday, me having a half-birthday – more on that in next update – and it being our wedding anniversary month. First up was dad’s birthday, luckily over the public holiday long weekend so we had a relaxing time, as you’ll see below…

Friday, 7 August 2015: Bertie doesn’t realise there’s evidence he’s been digging

Just as I was starting my last blog post, Husband called me to come see if I could tell which doggy had been digging in the garden. Despite his most innocent expression and spotless white paws, Bertie didn't realise his dirty little face just gave him away...
Just as I was starting my last blog post, Husband called me to come see if I could tell which doggy had been digging in the garden. Despite his most innocent expression and spotless white paws, Bertie didn’t realise his dirty little face just gave him away…

Saturday, 8 August 2015: News Cafe breakfast

Husband peppering his News Cafe egg breakfast.
Husband peppering his News Cafe egg breakfast, as he does.
My cappuccino may have been too strong (yes, really)  but I was most pleased with my early bird (R25) muesli jar.
My cappuccino may have been too strong (yes, really) but I was most pleased with my early bird (R25) muesli jar – order after 10am and the price doubles.
Mum made us a whole extra carrot cake in preparation of Dad's birthday on Monday!
Mum made us a whole extra carrot cake in preparation of Dad’s birthday on Monday! By which time it had all but disappeared…

Sunday, 9 August 2015: Fish Hoek roadtrip

The Mugg & Bean breakfast sammich. I ate it all.
The Mugg & Bean breakfast sammich. I ate it all.
Husband tried the avo-mushroom eggs benny.
Husband tried the avo-mushroom eggs benny.
The we headed to Kalk Bay. Loved the little blue-and-red boats.
Tummies lined for the long trip, we headed towards Kalk Bay. Loved the little blue-and-red boats in the harbour.
Our very first visit to Kalkies, ever - Husband got this huge platter of hake and chips, all for R48.
It was our very first visit to Kalkies, ever – Husband got this huge platter of hake and chips, all for R48.
The biggest, scariest, plumpest seal ever. He was happily munching on fish as folk warily trotted past.
The biggest, scariest, plumpest seal ever. He was happily munching on fish as folk warily trotted past.
I had to hold on to the lighthouse as the wind was strong enough to blow me away!
I had to hold on to the lighthouse at the end of the pier as the wind was strong enough to blow me away!
We drove on to Fish Hoek and had ice creams on the beach... crazy nutters were paddling in the water. Far too cold for that to be enjoyable.
We drove on to Fish Hoek and had ice creams on the beach… crazy nutters were paddling in the water. Far too cold for that to be enjoyable.
Husband shared some of  his ice cream cone with  a sea gull.
Husband shared some of his ice cream cone with a sea gull.
Later that afternoon we stopped at Inside in Big Bay Husband had a Long Island Ice Tea, I had a sticky caramel frappe.
Later that afternoon we stopped at Inside in Big Bay Husband had a Long Island Ice Tea, I had a sticky caramel frappe.
Little Miss Bassie gave the new Adirondack share a try - she didn't understand what all the fuss was about.
This was the whole reason for the day trip – my very kind former manager had made me the chair my heart was pitter-pattering over, so we went to collect it. Little Miss Bassie gave the new Adirondack share a try – she didn’t understand what all the fuss was about.

Monday, 10 August 2015: Dad’s birthday at Nitida’s Cassia

Birthday drinks! MCC and cappuccinos for dad's birthday.
Birthday breakfast drinks! MCC and cappuccinos for dad’s birthday.
The birthday boy! He doesn't look his age at all (he's 65!)
The birthday boy! He doesn’t look his age at all (he’s 65!)
See the family resemblance? Pa se kind.
See the family resemblance? Pa se kind.
Proof that we were all there.
Proof that we were all there.
After a lazy day - best way to spend a Monday - we headed to Doodles for their Winter specials. Husband had a sunset draught.
After a lazy day – best way to spend a Monday – we headed to Doodles for their Winter specials. Husband had a sunset draught.
I had  alatte as the weather was on the chilly side.
I had a latte as the weather was on the chilly side.
Husband opted for his favourite bangers and mash - R45 for all this.
Husband opted for his favourite bangers and mash – R45 for all this.

Wednesday, 12 August 2015: Mum’s pre-birthday dins

So sweet! Bassie showed us just how much she loves her Granny.
So sweet! Bassie showed us just how much she loves her Granny. This was the night before Mom’s birthday, as I was jetting off to Durban the next day to cover the Loeries.

That’s all for this post, folks. Next up: All about the Loeries 2015… watch this space! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Doggie digging, Dad’s 65th birthday brekkie & hugging light houses”

  1. Love kalk bay such a hidden little place that and hope you managed to see the seals playing in the ocean on that pier.

    1. Thanks for the comment, Jackers! Yes we saw seals swimming and seals eating fish… I was terrified of walking past the enormous one on the fish-selling pier but he just grunted at me, lol 🙂

Leave a comment