Cousinly theatrics, burgers and shakes galore and a fond farewell

Cousinly? Is that even a word? Well no, but ‘ly’ is added onto words to make them descriptive, and seeing as the theatre show in question starred my cousin, I went with it. Cousinly. Forgive me. See my highlights of the week below, which included a great many burgers, milkshakes and more…

Saturday, 23 May 2015: Lunch at Dias Tavern, Cabaret at The Fugard Theatre

Dad inspecting a vehicle, parked outside a no parking sign at the Dias Tavern. Right next to a live boxing club.
Dad inspecting an eye-catching vehicle, parked outside a no parking sign at the Dias Tavern. Right next to a live boxing club.
That would be my pink milkshake at Dias Tavern.
That would be my pink milkshake at Dias Tavern.
Cheers-ing dad's Catemba - red wine mixed with cola.
Cheers-ing dad’s Catemba – red wine mixed with cola.
Husband had a Castle Draught, suitably positioned in front of the Castle Draught sign.
Husband had a Castle Draught, suitably positioned in front of the Castle Draught sign.
My burger! Amazingly tasty, especially with extra prego sauce smeared on top.
My burger! Amazingly tasty, especially with extra prego sauce smeared on top.
That's the jug of prego sauce I mentioned, going on Mom's prego roll as intended.
That’s the jug of prego sauce I mentioned, going on Mom’s prego roll as intended.
Love <3
Love ❤
Husband and me outside the Fugard Theatre, where we watched my cousin act in Cabaret.
Husband and me outside the Fugard Theatre, where we watched my cousin act in Cabaret.
Husband having a coffee in The Fugard, as we waited to go in and watch.
Husband having a coffee in The Fugard, as we waited to go in and watch.
Mom enjoying the popcorn at half-time. Such a treat!
Mom enjoying the popcorn at half-time. Such a treat!

Sunday, 24 May 2015: Breakfast cake and doggy door installations

Sunday breakfast = the R30 cake and cappuccino special at Foodlover's Market. I had the Oreo cheesecake, my favourite.
Sunday breakfast = the R30 cake and cappuccino special at Foodlover’s Market. I had the Oreo cheesecake, my favourite.
1 X doggy door installed. 1 X day of reminding Bertie how to push his way in and out, and all are happy chappies.
1 X doggy door installed. 1 X day of reminding Bertie how to push his way in and out, and all are happy chappies.

Monday, 25 May 2015: Fantastic IT birthday cake

This here baked milktart, and that there chocolatey deliciousness? Perfect together, Especially on a Monday :)
This here baked milktart, and that there chocolatey deliciousness? Perfect together, Especially on a Monday 🙂

Tuesday, 26 May 2015:  Winter two-for-one burgers at Driftwood Cafe

Driftwood Cafe - one of our favourites.
Driftwood Cafe – one of our favourites. Especially when they start their midweek Winter specials.
Love the lighting at the Driftwood. This was a Milo milkshake.
Love the lighting at the Driftwood. This was a Milo milkshake.
Husband made friends with one of the chickens roaming the grounds.
Husband made friends with one of the chickens roaming the grounds.
Husband relaxing after a longggg day's work. He promptly came down with a tummy bug the next day and has been in bed since, poor dear, so this will likely be a photo-light weekend...
Husband relaxing after a longggg day’s work. He promptly came down with a tummy bug the next day and has been in bed since, poor dear. I’ve had it mildly too, so this will likely be a photo-light weekend…

Wednesday, 27 May 2015: Swissroll to end the day on a roly-poly note

Swissroll! Mum brought it to our house for a post-dins treat :)
Swissroll! Mum brought it to our house for a post-dins treat 🙂

Friday, 29 May 2015: Farewell lunch at The Forester’s Arms (Forries) in Newlands

My Nutella shake, at the Forester's Arms in Newlands (Forries). My first visit, most pleasant with a roaring fire as the rain battered down outside. We were there for the most wonderful manager's farewell lunch.
My Nutella shake, at the Forester’s Arms in Newlands (Forries). Called ‘Forries’ as it used to be at the very edge of the Newlands Forest. My first visit, most pleasant with a roaring fire as the rain battered down outside. We were there for the most wonderful manager’s farewell lunch.
The very interesting floor at Forries.
The very interesting floor at Forries.
Deluxe burger with cheese and crispy bacon. Great pub fare.
Deluxe burger with cheese and crispy bacon. Great pub fare.
My second shake of the day - this time a large berry.
My second shake of the day – this time a large berry.
The bestest everest work team! Spot me in the back, teehee.
The bestest everest work team! Spot me in the back, teehee.

That’s all, folks. The weather’s icy, we’ve both been poorly so I predict lots of naps and reading by the fire this weekend. Keep warm! 🙂

One thought on “Cousinly theatrics, burgers and shakes galore and a fond farewell”

Leave a comment