Chocolatey waffles and midweek work functions to make the medicine go down…

“In the most delightful wayyyyy!” Thanks, Mary Poppins. Ahem. As you were.

This past week I was knocked flat by the awful cold/flu that’s spreading like wildfire the country at the moment due to change of season. I’m mostly better now, apart from the hacking cough that keeps breaking the silence – stay warm kiddos, my drenching on the bus last week was probably the final straw after fighting off the germs everyone had been spluttering around all week. That doesn’t mean we had a boring week though, stifled by tissues and throat spray – not by a long shot 🙂 Yes, I do love my job – you’ll see why in the pics below…

Saturday, 6 June 2015: Waffle breakfast, owlie gazing, Enchanted pizza

When I awoke on Saturday with  a firey throat and tonsils ablaze (this girl was on firrrrrre), Husband asked what I wanted for breakfast. Only a Wimpy mega coffee and a waffle with ice cream came to mind, so off to Wimpy we went. I had the waffle with brownies and M&Ms, clearly
When I awoke on Saturday with a firey throat and tonsils ablaze, Husband asked what I wanted for breakfast. Only a Wimpy mega coffee to burn my throat and a waffle with ice cream to soothe it came to mind, so off to Wimpy we went. I had the waffle with brownies and M&Ms, clearly
There was a flurry of activity in our local West Coast Village so w went to see and sure enough, the resident owlie was being photographed by all and sundry. I even had my owlie-dotted bag on my shoulder. Husband heard him asking 'Hooo'.
There was a flurry of activity in our local West Coast Village so we went to see and sure enough, the resident owlie was being photographed by all and sundry. I even had my owlie-dotted bag on my shoulder. Husband heard him asking ‘Hooo’.
Bassie turned her nose up at Pupcorn once before, but she really LOVED this bag - maybe because it's roast beef flavour, but most likely because it was bought for her brother.
Bassie turned her nose up at Pupcorn once before, but she really LOVED this bag – maybe because it’s roast beef flavour, but most likely because it was bought for her brother.
The interesting decor at Enchanted pizza - recently opened in Parklands, with daily comments on Facebook about how good their pizzas are, we tried them for dins.
The interesting decor at Enchanted pizza – recently opened in Parklands. With daily comments on Facebook about how good their pizzas are, we tried them for dins.
The pizza we shared - the Mexican. With chicken, guacamole, sour cream. I said I'd have a slice and ended up demolishing nearly half of it.
The pizza we shared – the Mexican. With chicken, guacamole, sour cream. I said I’d have a slice and ended up demolishing nearly half of it.
That's the outline of a lady in my cappuccino foam, and two homemade shortbread rounds in my saucer. Win win.
That’s the outline of a lady silhouette in my cappuccino foam, and two homemade shortbread rounds in my saucer. Win win.

Sunday, 7 June 2015: Melkbos brekkie, Bassie gets a chinful of custard

Ontbyt.
Ontbyt.
20150607_102706-1
On Sunday I was well enough for an outing so we trotted off to I heart Melkies in Melkbos. This was my granola with sliced banana and berry coulis.
Husband went for the ‘veggie breakfast’ instead. Marmite toast with avo, roast tomatoes and poached egg. “It was something different”, he said.
Husband happily pouring his breakfast Cola. Note the herb box next to us, ran all around the inner perimeter of the seating area.
Husband happily pouring his breakfast Cola. Note the herb box next to us. It ran all around the inner perimeter of the seating area.
Beautiful serviette.
Beautiful serviette.
My most beautiful doglet. Guess who had some custard at Granny's house.
My most beautiful doglet. Guess who had some custard at Granny’s house.

Tuesday, 9 June: Zomato Editor’s breakfast at Cape Milner

Had to snap this sign.
Had to snap this sign while walking through town on Tuesday morning.
Beautiful orchid-topped glass table in the glass lounge, Cape Milner hotel. But that's not why it's called the Glass Lounge...
Beautiful orchid-topped glass table in the Glass Lounge, Cape Milner hotel. But that’s not why it’s called the Glass Lounge…
This is! Amazing glass ceiling, glass doors leading out to the pool area, and views of Table Mountain. A real treat to see on a work day.
This is! Amazing glass ceiling, glass doors leading out to the pool area, and views of Table Mountain. A real treat to see on a work day.
This is why I was there - for the Zomato Editor's Breakfast. Delightful.
This is why I was there – for the Zomato Editor’s Breakfast. Delightful. It’s work, I promise – read here.
My cappuccino and fruity/yoghurt/muesli from above, even with some edible gold. Sparkly.
My cappuccino and fruity/yoghurt/muesli from above, even with some edible gold. Sparkly.
The eggs ben on toasted English muffin, with ham and spinach, and  aside of apply juice to wash it down.
The eggs ben on toasted English muffin, with ham and spinach, and a side of apple juice to wash it down.
Even better? We each were sent off to our respective offices with a personalised cookie from Charly's Bakery. Was delicious and shortbread-like.
Even better? We were sent off to our respective offices with a personalised cookie from Charly’s Bakery. Was delicious and shortbread-like.

Thursday, 11 June 2015: Evening event at Marshall Music on Buitengracht Street

Isn't this just the best collection of guitars you've seen? So many more to marvel at when I attended an evening event at Marshall Music in Cape Town.
Isn’t this just the best collection of guitars you’ve seen? So many more to marvel at when I attended an evening event at Marshall Music in Cape Town.
The full sign reads 'Welcome to Marshall Music'. I only got up to 'Mars' in this shot. Teehee.
The full sign reads ‘Welcome to Marshall Music’. I only got up to ‘Mars’ in this shot. Teehee.

That’s all, folks! We’re finally both on the mend so should have a regular weekend of resting, relaxing and relishing food on the cards – enjoy! 🙂

Leave a comment