Hello Sailor breakfasts and Mother’s Day puppy love

It’s official – Winter 2015 has hit in Cape Town. What’s funny is, I made the same announcement last year – that Winter had officially hit on Mother’s Day weekend. (See here if you don’t believe me). Most of this week has had foggy, frosty mornings – not fun on the back of a bike. I predict a weekend of being wrapped snug in soft blankets, mugs of steamy drinks and lots of lounging in front of the fireplace.

But before we get to this weekend, we need to cover last weekend, and all that’s happened since…

Saturday, 9 May 2015: Breakfast at Hello Sailor in Obz,  home generator installation

Bertie's morning face. Love this dog.
Bertie’s morning face. Love this dog.
That's me, as seen through the window of Hello Sailor in Obz.
That’s me, as seen through the window of Hello Sailor in Obz.
Couldn't have started the day any better than with a cappuccino.
Couldn’t have started the day any better than with a cappuccino.
Husband was either pondering the 'Hello Sailor' artboard or the 'ever-present hippie on his Mac in the booth opposite. We then had  a long discussion on the difference between hippies and hipsters.
Husband was either pondering the ‘Hello Sailor’ artboard or the ‘ever-present hippie’ on his Mac in the booth opposite. We then had a long discussion on the difference between hippies and hipsters.
Husband happily Tabasco-saucing his well-peppered eggs ben.
Husband happily Tabasco-saucing his well-peppered eggs ben.
My French toast (of course) with bacon and grilled banana was just delightful.
My French toast (of course) with bacon and grilled banana was just delightful.
Some of the pretty street art (not sure if this counts as graffiti?) in Obz, when we took a little walk after brekkie.
Some of the pretty street art (not sure if this counts as graffiti?) in Obz, when we took a little walk after brekkie.
We treated ourselves to a genny, after lots of research into how much  wattage we'd need to keep the basics running when we have our all-too-frequent loadshedding stints. We have bad luck with our schedule, as we're loadshed every second day from 6pm to 8.30pm, but this week was a breeze.
We treated ourselves to a genny, after lots of research into how much wattage we’d need to keep the basics running when we have our all-too-frequent loadshedding stints. We have bad luck with our schedule, as we’re loadshed every second day from 6pm to 8.30pm, but this week was a breeze.

Sunday, 10 May 2015: Mother’s Day brunch, afternoon snack at Captain’s Kitchen

Mum and me on Mother's Day - we kept to our standing tradition of Mother's Day brunch at our house. Husband kindly cooked eggs and bacon and toast, and we had a feast of fruit salad, yoghurt, pastries, coffee, juice and bubbly.
Mum and me on Mother’s Day – we kept to our standing tradition of Mother’s Day brunch at our house. Husband kindly cooked eggs and bacon and toast, and we had a feast of fruit salad, yoghurt, pastries, coffee, juice and bubbly.
Love this photo of Bassie with her granny.
Love this photo of Bassie with her granny.
Here's Bassie with me - such a dear little dog.
Here’s Bassie with me – such a dear little dog.
My doggies remembered! They gave Husband their grubby puppy coins and he got some items from their list - all things to make mommy's garden and patio pretty. Bless.
My doggies remembered! They gave Husband their grubby puppy coins and he got some items from their list – all things to make mommy’s garden and patio pretty. Bless.
A Mother's Day draught at Captain's Kitchen. R40 is way too much for this, Husband commented.
A Mother’s Day draught at Captain’s Kitchen. R40 is way too much for this, Husband commented.
This here coffee shake was a bit better value at R25...
This here coffee shake was a bit better value at R25…
And the Italia pizza for R90? Perhaps we'd have it again on their weekly Thursday 'two for the price of one' special.
And the Italia pizza for R90? Perhaps we’d have it again on their weekly Thursday ‘two for the price of one’ special.

Thursday, 14 May 2015: Exploring the Castle Brewery complex in Woodstock

Kitty let me snap a photo when I was walking through the Castle Brewery complex in Woodstock on Thursday morning. I got there super early so had time to take in the sights...
This here grey kitty let me snap a photo when I was walking through the Castle Brewery complex in Woodstock on Thursday morning. I got there super early so had time to take in the sights…
...But was delighted to find that Native VML, where the event was held, has a lovely bright coffee shop area with interesting things all over the walls. Just right for a creative space.
…But was delighted to find that Native VML, where the event was held, has a lovely bright coffee shop area with interesting things all over the walls. Just right for a creative space.
So I spent the rest of my wait busy with the book I'd remembered to bring along with me, a top-notch cappuccino, and digestive biccies.
So I spent the rest of my wait busy with the book I’d remembered to bring along with me, a top-notch cappuccino or two and digestive biccies.

Keep warm, critters! It’s cold out there…

One thought on “Hello Sailor breakfasts and Mother’s Day puppy love”

Leave a comment