Lounging on jumping castles, doggies explore gardens and impromptu day trips to Atlantis

Ah, weekend. “You are so beautifullllll, to meeee.” I know I’m not alone in saying that no matter how much you enjoy your workdays, there’s no denying the important rejuvenating effect of the weekend. Maybe my stint a few years ago of working weekends – so that I ended up with roughly three months, close on 100 days of working every single day – helped colour the picture a little more brightly. That’s why I now relish the thought of coming home on a Friday and changing into my comfortables, not having to be up at a set (early) hour the next day. Unplanned weekends are the best – where you can simply do as you wish, without having to do a specific thing at a specific time with specific people. My weekend rambling’s been aided by the fact that I was on leave today, so I’m already ahead of you on the “I love weekend’ stakes… but don’t turn green with jealousy as we have a 4-day weekend coming up next! So I recommend you use this regular weekend we’re on the threshold of to stretch your weekend ideas. Come up with something wonderfully relaxing to do over the double-length one just peeping over the horizon at you. For now, here’s what we’ve been up to recently…

Saturday, 21 March 2015: Foodlover’s breakfast, Wembley Roadhouse lunch, Driftwood Cafe jumping castle

Lately Husband's breakfast Colas just say the nicest things
Lately Husband’s breakfast Colas just say the nicest things
I loved my breakfast cappuccino at Foodlover's Market right back.
I loved my breakfast cappuccino at Foodlover’s Market right back.
Husband lunched at the Wembley Roadhouse - their Whopper with egg is always a winner, no matter how long the wait
Husband lunched at the Wembley Roadhouse – their Whopper with egg is always a winner, no matter how long the wait
See? Nom nom nom! The foil wrapper adds  a tasty touch (not that you should eat it, kids)
See? Nom nom nom! The foil wrapper adds a tasty touch (not that you should eat it, kids)
And then, much later, we dropped in at the Driftwood Cafe to quench our thirst. Here is Husband with his Black Label...
And then, much later, we dropped in at the Driftwood Cafe to quench our thirst. Here is Husband with his Black Label…
And me with my peanut butter-custard shake. The most amazing.
And me with my peanut butter-custard shake. The most amazing.
Then Husband decided to show me he still has what it takes to bounce around a jumping castle
Then Husband decided to show me he still has what it takes to bounce around a jumping castle
Teehee. Best.
Teehee. Best.

Sunday, 22 March 2015: Driftwood Cafe breakfast, doggies explore new front garden

In fact, we enjoyed our Driftwood snack so much that we stopped in to try their revamped breakfast menu the next morning. Success, with Husband opting for the salmon eggs benedict (and very large portion of chips)
In fact, we enjoyed our Driftwood snack so much that we stopped in to try their revamped breakfast menu the next morning. Success, with Husband opting for the salmon eggs benedict (and very large portion of chips)
For me, a Cafe Latte and toasted chicken mayo - not pictured but went down a treat!
For me, a Cafe Latte and toasted chicken mayo – not pictured but went down a treat!
Morning selfies with mom.
Morning selfies with mom.
The wall, she is up! Just needs to be painted in home owner association-approved colours this weekend, and for the gates to be installed.
The wall, she is up! Just needs to be painted in home owner association-approved colours this weekend, and for the gates to be installed.
As I said, the new gates are only being installed this weekend, but Husband cleverly barricaded the gap so the doglets could get a sense of their new garden. They must have spent 45 minutes with their noses down smelling every little inch!
As I said, the new gates are only being installed this weekend, but Husband cleverly barricaded the gap so the doglets could get a sense of their new garden. They must have spent 45 minutes with their noses down smelling every little inch!
Love this dog. Exploring deep in the bushes.
Love this dog. Exploring deep in the bushes.
Excitedly peering through the non-gate.
Excitedly peering through the non-gate.
Bertie in bed, exhausted after his afternoon of exploring.
Bertie in bed, exhausted after his afternoon of exploring.

Thursday, 26 March 2015: Early morning view, office hot cross buns, Liquorice walls

Beautiful morning view out the office window.
Beautiful morning view out the office window.
You know I ate this hot cross bun in the office as you can see my owlie mug jealously eye-ing it. Teehee.
You know I ate this hot cross bun in the office as you can see my owlie mug jealously eye-ing it. Teehee.
Such a cleverly painted office wall at Liquorice, where I attended an event in the afternoon.
Such a cleverly painted office wall at Liquorice, where I attended an event in the afternoon.

Friday, 27 March 2015: Pre-sunrise trip to train station, road trip to Atlantis

One of the reasons I took today off - we were transporting Mum and Dad to the train station. They sent us this pic at 6.50am from the Blue Train lounge at the station, where they had coffee before departing.
One of the reasons I took today off – we were transporting Mum and Dad to the train station. They sent us this pic at 6.50am from the Blue Train lounge at the station, where they had coffee before departing.
We got from the station to Husband's work in record time so stopped off for a quick bite first - yes, that's a cappuccino each!
We got from the station to Husband’s work in record time so stopped off for a quick bite first – yes, that’s a cappuccino each!
View of Lion's Head from the new Vida just opposite the harbour, just after sunrise.
View of Lion’s Head from the new Vida just opposite the harbour, just after sunrise.
Ha. Husband took this photo of a colleague's breakfast when he got to the office.
Ha. Husband took this photo of a colleague’s breakfast when he got to the office.
Later in the day I met up with Husband again as he was travelling to Atlantis to drop off some large prints. The clouds looked like they'd been tossed in a line low on the horizon.
Later in the day I met up with Husband again as he was travelling to Atlantis to drop off some large prints. The clouds looked like they’d been tossed in a line low on the horizon.
Of course I packed road trip snacks.
Of course I packed road trip snacks.
In case you're wondering, this is the formal dins on the Blue Train, courtesy of mum and dad. We had a more low-key braai at home - just the two of us with ribs, potato salad and sweet corn, mmm. Pics next week, p'raps.
In case you’re wondering, this is the formal dins on the Blue Train, courtesy of mum and dad. We had a more low-key braai at home – just the two of us with ribs, potato salad and sweet corn, mmm. Pics next week, p’raps.

See how much you can do in a weekend, even if you spend the bulk of it relaxing? Hope I’ve inspired you πŸ™‚

One thought on “Lounging on jumping castles, doggies explore gardens and impromptu day trips to Atlantis”

Leave a Reply

