Week-long celebrations with muchos nachos, sunset beach walks and burny bunnies

This week the title pretty much says it all, except it was ALSO my half birthday, plus we had breakfast with my Cape rellies AND we’re heading off on our very first holiday since moving here almost 3 years ago, so we’ve been in good cheer all week. See below…

Thursday, 20 August 2015: GIL Africa Conference at Table Bay Hotel and my half-birthday

Pre-conference coffee in the quiet outside section at the Table Bay Hotel. Interesting water feature.
Pre-conference coffee in the quiet outside section at the Table Bay Hotel. I was there for the Growth, Innovation, Leadership (GIL) Africa Conference and loved this interesting water feature.
Pink, pink flowers during morning tea at the Table Bay Hotel.
Pink, pink flowers during morning tea at the Table Bay Hotel.
The 20th is also my half-birthday. Odd, I know, as my real birthday is 15 Feb. The doggies don't care though, as long as they get to give kisses. Bassie wasn't too impressed that the moment was photographed...
The 20th is also my half-birthday. Odd, I know, as my real birthday is 15 Feb. The doggies don’t care though, as long as they get to give kisses. Bassie wasn’t too impressed that the moment was photographed – she’s a little shy…

Friday, 21 August 2015: Bizcommunity’s 14th birthday fun at the Fat Cactus, Woodstock

Starter platters! We ate and we ate, so much so that we were full by the time our mains arrived.
Starter platters! We ate and we ate, so much so that we were full by the time our mains arrived.
That's my rather large portion of Sloppy Joe nachos. I took more than half home with me for dins!
That’s my rather large portion of Sloppy Joe nachos. I took more than half home with me for dins!
It was so sunny and bright that we pulled the blinds down - then there was too much light on the other side of the table. So we reached a happy compromise by wearing hats. Metallic. Cowboy-style. Obvs.
It was so sunny and bright that we pulled the blinds down – then there was too much light on the other side of the table. So we reached a happy compromise by wearing hats. Metallic. Cowboy-style. Obvs.
The doggies received another special delivery from Hills on Friday - this time dental crouton things to keep their little mouths healthy. Bertie crunches his way through them, Bassie isn't too impressed, as she's a little fusspot.
The doggies received another special delivery from Hills on Friday – this time they are dental crouton things to keep their little mouths healthy. Bertie merrily crunches his way through them, Bassie isn’t too keen and eats them with long teeth as she’s a little fusspot.

Saturday, 22 August 2015: Special coffee and snorkelling

I love the way the peppermint choc syrup is swirled onto the medium latte at Reload.
I love the way the peppermint choc syrup is swirled onto the medium latte at Reload.
It was the hottest day we'd had in weeks, so we headed down to Cosy Bay - Husband did a spot of snorkelling - he put his snorkel and flippers on after I took this shot.
It was the hottest day we’d had in weeks, so we headed down to Cosy Bay near the 12 Apostles – Husband did a spot of snorkelling – he put on his snorkel and flippers after I took this shot.
We then stopped off at the always-delightful Riverway Cafe in Hout Bay for an afternoon snack. This was my coffee shake...
We then stopped off at the always-delightful Riverway Cafe in Hout Bay for an afternoon snack. This was my coffee shake…
And the most delicious lemon cheesecake.
And the most delicious lemon cheesecake.
Husband opted for his favourite, the piggy poppers - jalepenos filled with cheese and pulled pork, wrapped in bacon. Really hot and really good.
Husband opted for his favourite, the piggy poppers – jalepenos filled with cheese and pulled pork, wrapped in bacon. Really hot and really good.

Sunday, 23 August 2015: Brekkie with my Cape family at Durbanville Hills

My cappuccino and the tiny Durbanville Hills menu - packed with tasty options.
My cappuccino and the tiny Durbanville Hills menu – packed with tasty options.
Most of the ladies opted for the eggs ben with ham. Such delicious, frothy Hollandaise sauce. Mmm!
Most of the ladies opted for the eggs ben with ham. Such delicious, frothy Hollandaise sauce. Mmm!
I don't think Husband shouted loud enough for the end of the table to hear it was time to smile for a photo - teehee.
I don’t think Husband shouted loud enough for the end of the table to hear it was time to smile for a photo – teehee.

Monday, 24 August 2015: Pre-anniversary bunny chow at Inside, Big Bay

My precious Husband with our half-price chicken bunnies on the eve of our 8th wedding anniversary.
My precious Husband with our half-price chicken bunnies on the eve of our 8th wedding anniversary.
Of course koffie-bekkie over here washed hers down with a latte.
Of course ‘koffie-bekkie’ over here washed hers down with a latte.

Tuesday, 25 August 2015: Team lunch at The Tap House, Salt River and sunset beach walk

When a restaurant mentions their cheese burger has won an international award, that's what you order. It was really good - like a gourmet McD's. Plus there's a burger and beer special on Tuesdays...
When a restaurant mentions their cheese burger has won an international award, that’s what you order. It was really good – like a gourmet McD’s. Plus there’s an R55 ‘burger and beer’ special on Tuesdays…
Lunch eaten and work finished for the day, we headed off with the doggies to their favourite walking beach, Kreeftebaai, close to Melkbos. Witnessed a beautiful sunset...
Lunch eaten and work finished for the day, we headed off with the doggies to their favourite walking beach, Kreeftebaai, close to Melkbos. Witnessed a beautiful sunset…
Husband on the rocks next to the setting sun.
Husband on the rocks next to the setting sun.
The doggies in a calmer moment. Looks like Bertie is licking his sister's head. Teehee.
The doggies in a calmer moment. Looks like Bertie is licking his sister’s head. Teehee.
This shot just captures Bertie's personality to a T - curious, intelligent, inquisitive. Love that dog!
This shot just captures Bertie’s personality to a T – curious, intelligent, inquisitive. Love that dog!
Proof the little ones were there...
Proof the little ones were there…
I know it's blurry but it's too funny not to include. Husband photobombing my usual 'Bassie and Mommy post-beach visit' shot :)
I know it’s blurry but it’s too funny not to include. Husband photobombing my usual ‘Bassie and Mommy post-beach visit’ shot 🙂

Thursday, 20 August 2015: Breakfast in Constantia and afternoon naps

Just look at that yummy deliciousness! Parents treated me to elevensies at the Raith deli in Constantia. This is the Strammer Max - rye topped with avo, heaps of ham, cheesy egg and slices of sweet pickle.
Just look at that yummy deliciousness! Parents treated me to elevensies at the Raith deli in Constantia on my day off. This is the Strammer Max – rye topped with avo, heaps of ham, cheesy egg and slices of sweet pickle.
Dad and me, while he tucks into his franks with potato salad.
Dad and me, while he tucks into his franks with potato salad.
Despite her open eyes, Bassie was fast asleep in this shot, leaning on me as I read and had an afternoon nap. Just what the doctor ordered!
Despite her open eyes, Bassie was fast asleep in this shot, leaning on me as I read and had an afternoon nap. Just what the doctor ordered!

That’s all, folks – next week will be an update on our anniversary stay at Avalon Springs in Montagu, watch this space! 🙂

PS: The text that’s underlined in gold is linked to related content I’ve posted earlier in my blog, so go back and click on the links of you missed ’em!

3 thoughts on “Week-long celebrations with muchos nachos, sunset beach walks and burny bunnies”

Leave a comment