Bus-rain mishaps, Wintery dog walks & let the bangers-and-mash-capades 2015 begin!

Yes, it’s Winter. No, I’m not a Winter person. But I am a fan of enjoying the little happy moments that pepper my day, even when it’s drizzly all day and that famed Cape wind is so cold outside that I can’t breathe and have to hold onto things while walking towards the MyCiti Civic Centre station – yes really, I fought through this on Monday.

Here are a few of my happy (and not-so-happy) moments of the past week…

Saturday, 30 May 2015: Reload breakfast, Wintery dog walk

Husband's brekkie of choice last Saturday -  the German hot dog with an extra egg at Reload. Note his mustard spiral fell out of the roll. Sad face.
Husband’s brekkie of choice last Saturday – the German hot dog with an extra egg at Reload. Note his mustard spiral fell out of the roll. Sad face.
I opted for the honey nut latte. Yummy.
I opted for the honey nut latte. Yummy.
A little can of fizzy delight - we stopped at the UK Emporium for some treats later that morning, this was my first ever Cherry 7-Up.
A little can of fizzy delight – we stopped at the UK Emporium for some treats later that morning, this was my first ever Cherry 7-Up.
The rest of our spoils included Chunky double caramel Kit-kats,  Vanilla Cola and Chocotastic Pop-Tarts (on special at just R10 for a box of 8!)
The rest of our spoils included Chunky double caramel Kit-kats, Vanilla Cola and Chocotastic Pop-Tarts (on special at just R10 for a box of 8!)
Later that afternoon, Husband finished all the little DIY tasks in the study, including putting up this shelf, nailing all of our academic certificates onto the 'wall of clever' and sorting out my enormous pinboard of paper mementos. Tick!
Later that afternoon, Husband finished all the little DIY tasks in the study, including putting up this shelf, nailing all of our academic certificates onto the ‘wall of clever’ and sorting out my enormous pinboard of paper mementos. Tick!
The weather was grey but the doggies loved their long meander all around the neighbourhood.
The weather was grey but the doggies loved their ‘just under 2 km’ long meander all around the neighbourhood.
They LOVED all the new sights and smells!
They LOVED all the new sights and smells!

Sunday, 31 May 2015: Rainy Sunday pub grub at Forries

I enjoyed last Friday's office lunch at Forries so much that it was the first place that sprang to mind when I saw the weather on Sunday. Here is Husband just outside - you can just see the edge of Devil's Peak behind Forries.
I enjoyed last Friday’s office lunch at Forries so much that it was the first place that sprang to mind when I saw the weather on Sunday. Here is Husband just outside – you can just see the edge of Devil’s Peak behind Forries.
Husband not-so-happy about being made to  pose at the 'History of beer in Cape Town' walls in the beer-tasting room.
Husband not-so-happy about being made to pose at the ‘History of beer in Cape Town’ walls in the beer-tasting room.
Me at the Castle draught 1895 tanker
Me at the Castle draught 1895 tanker
He tried the '1895 preservative-free' Castle Draught.
He tried the ‘1895 preservative-free’ Castle Draught and turned his frown upside down.
He had three large bangers nestled on mash with veggie bits. “Very good,” he said.
I went for the jalapeno poppers wrapped in bacon, with pesto drizzled on the plate along with sliced fig and roasted baby tomatoes. A wonderful taste explosion!
I went for the jalapeno poppers wrapped in bacon, with pesto drizzled on the plate along with sliced fig and roasted baby tomatoes. A wonderful taste explosion!
Bertie looks very proud of himself here, sitting next to two 'smaller dogs' at Granny's house on Sunday eve.
Bertie looks very proud of himself here, sitting next to two ‘smaller dogs’ at Granny’s house on Sunday eve.

Wednesday, 3 June 2015: Wet weather at the One & Only

I attended a mobile/IT-type conference at the One & Only hotel on Wednesday. The weather was sunny and bright when I arrived - so much so that seagulls were frollicking in a water feature.
I attended a mobile/IT-type conference at the One & Only hotel on Wednesday, my first ever visit. The weather was sunny and bright when I arrived – so much so that seagulls were frollicking in a water feature.
The pretty tea selection inside.
The pretty tea selection inside.
Tea time treats and Protea table decor - I've blogged before about Cape Town's love of using this flower to brighten indoor events.
Tea time treats and Protea table decor – I’ve blogged before about Cape Town’s love of using this flower to brighten indoor events.
The weather on my way home in the bus that afternoon - wet and miserable. Even more so when an opening in the bus roof leaked the rainwater it had collected all over my pants while I was seated!
The weather on my way home in the bus that afternoon – wet and miserable. Even more so when an opening in the bus roof leaked the rainwater it had collected all over my pants while I was seated!
I took this pic on my bus trip home to show you the 'escape hatch' panel in the bus roof responsible for my rain water-drenched lap on Wednesday. Bad bus!
I took this pic on my bus trip home to show you the ‘escape hatch’ panel in the bus roof responsible for my rain water-drenched lap on Wednesday. See it, looking all innocent? Bad bus!

Friday, 5 June: Bright ideas at Bright Day

My team had newsroom training at the Bright Day space in Woodstock - this tea set-up was so pretty. (See, more Proteas).
My team had newsroom training at the Bright Day space in Woodstock – this tea set-up was so pretty. (See, more Proteas). Was a wonderful afternoon.

That’s all for now, folks – I’m off to get cosy in front of the fire. Happy weekend! πŸ™‚

One thought on “Bus-rain mishaps, Wintery dog walks & let the bangers-and-mash-capades 2015 begin!”

Leave a Reply

