Scrumptious flapjacks, Scrabble victory is mine and the best wall art I’ve seen

“Life is hard by the yard but by the inch, life’s a cinch.” It’s a little corny I know, but I find repeating that phrase makes it that much easier to buckle down and get through a tricky task. There’s been a few of those this week, but also lots of lovely little moments that would otherwise have passed me by if I’d not been taking a break, breathing deeply and enjoying the moment. That’s why there are lots of happy snaps to see this week. What’s not to love about owlies, hot coffee, and good food? See for yourself…

Friday, 15 May 2015: Chimney exploration

Our deep, dark chimney, as seen from above when Husband went looking for a blockage of sorts in it last Friday, while I was merrily a-blogging my last update to you all...
Our deep, dark chimney, as seen from above when Husband went looking for a blockage of sorts in it last Friday, while I was merrily a-blogging my last update to you all…

Saturday, 16 May 2015: Reload bagels and The West Coast Village owlie returns

A sight you don't see everyday - Husband having not just a coffee for breakfast, but a triple cappuccino at Reload. It was good.
A sight you don’t see everyday – Husband having not just a coffee for breakfast, but a triple cappuccino at Reload. It was good.
I wanted something a little more exciting, so went for the (single shot) white choc caramel latte. So sweet I didn't add any sugar (Gasp!)
I wanted something a little more exciting, so went for the (single shot) white choc caramel latte. So sweet I didn’t add any sugar (Gasp!)
My breakfast bagel - coronation chicken with spring onion and flaked almonds on a so--fresh-it-was-still-warm onion bagel. Mmm.
My breakfast bagel – coronation chicken with spring onion and flaked almonds on a so-fresh-it-was-still-warm onion bagel. Mmm.
Husband opted for the German hot dog instead, with a fried egg on the side and a squirt of hot mustard.
Husband opted for the German hot dog instead, with a fried egg on the side and a squirt of hot mustard.
When we were out and about doing the weekly shop at West Coast Village, we noticed a few folk had aimed their phones at a certain tree, so I looked closer and yes! The lovely plump owlie that's been visiting the area for a few weeks had returned! He was napping through all the excitement though...
When we were out and about doing the weekly shop at West Coast Village, we noticed a few folk had aimed their phones at a certain tree, so I looked closer and yes! The lovely plump owlie that’s been visiting the area for a few weeks had returned! He was napping through all the excitement though…
Later that night we had a Scrabble rematch during loadshedding... and I finally won my first game! Must have been thanks to Bassie's help.
Later that night we had a Scrabble rematch during loadshedding… and I finally won my first game! Must have been thanks to Bassie’s help.

Sunday, 17 May 2015: The best flapjacks and Driftwood drinks

A cappuccino with shortbread side biscuit (yay) from Eden Cafe at Eden on the Bay. Part of the perfect Sunday brekkie, which kept me full for most of the day.
A cappuccino with shortbread side biscuit (yay) from Eden Cafe at Eden on the Bay. Part of the perfect Sunday brekkie, which kept me full for most of the day.
Breakfast is served! Husband says I always choose to sit in the chair where I have bad light behind me. So you either see me, or my meal or the scenery, never all three. Sob.
Breakfast is served! Husband says I always choose to sit in the chair where I have bad light behind me. So you either see me, or my meal or the scenery, never all three. Sob.
Tada! My wonderful flapjacks, up close - drizzled with syrup, cinnamon, walnuts, fresh sliced banana and a large dollop of marscapone, they were most more-ish.
Tada! My wonderful flapjacks, up close – drizzled with syrup, cinnamon, walnuts, fresh sliced banana and a large dollop of marscapone cheese, they were most more-ish.
Husband went for the salmony eggs ben. "Was alright", he grudgingly said. I think my flapjacks were the win of the weekend!
Husband went for the salmony eggs ben. “Was alright”, he grudgingly said. I think my flapjacks were the win of the weekend!
Our Sunday afternoon drinks at Driftwood Cafe - if you read the blog regularly you'll have little trouble decided which was mine (I guess Husband's hand around his gives it away, teehee).
Our Sunday afternoon drinks at Driftwood Cafe – if you read the blog regularly you’ll have little trouble deciding which was mine (I guess Husband’s hand around his gives it away, teehee).

Monday, 18 May 2015: Chameleon wall art near Obz train station

The most wonderfully painted chameleon. I was walking to the Observatory train station after collecting a package at the post office after work. Couldn't help stopping and pulling out the ol' iPad for this shot. Also love the pink bougainvillea gracing the image :)
The most wonderfully painted chameleon. I was walking to the Observatory train station after collecting a package at the post office after work. Couldn’t help stopping and pulling out the ol’ iPad for this shot. Also love the pink bougainvillea gracing the image ๐Ÿ™‚

Tuesday, 19 May 2015: dark chocolate cake with pink rose petals

Office birthday cake! This was the Charly's Bakery rich chocolate cake with rose petals. Tasted every bit as dark as it looks.
Office birthday cake! This was the Charly’s Bakery rich chocolate cake with rose petals. Tasted every bit as dark as it looks.

Wednesday, 19 May 2015: Viewing the city from the Inner City Ideas Cartel

Afternoon tea at the Inner City Ideas Cartel, where I attended the first day of the Business of Design seminar on Wednesday.
Afternoon tea at the Inner City Ideas Cartel, where I attended the first day of the Business of Design seminar on Wednesday.
One of the walls inside the plush ICIC theatre venue has a selection of paintbrushes artfully arranged.
One of the walls inside the plush ICIC theatre venue has a selection of paintbrushes artfully arranged.
The interesting rooftop decor at the ICIC.
The interesting rooftop decor at the ICIC.

That’s all, folks! Hope you enjoy the simple things in life this week…

2 thoughts on “Scrumptious flapjacks, Scrabble victory is mine and the best wall art I’ve seen”

  1. what lovely pictures and youre such a natural beauty you amaze me – so proud of my child! What a pretty chameleon! An idea for your own garden wall!!!

Leave a Reply

