Grey skies, orange suns and purple hair

This past weekend was a surprisingly cold one as we’d been well on our way towards Summer. Then suddenly – grey skies struck, a chilly wind bit, and Husband came down with the dreaded Mediterranean cold my family’s been fighting off, one by one. So it was a lazy “snuggle up and stay warm” kind of weekend.

Bassie gave us a weather report from the couch. She said it looked cold and to snuggle up. So we did
Bassie gave us a weather report from the couch. She said it looked cold and to snuggle up. So we did
Lighting makes it look like a cartoon. Here's Husband (see how Very Ill he was, napping while watched by the doggies?)
Lighting makes it look like a cartoon. Here’s Husband (see how Very Ill he was, napping while watched by the doggies?)

Despite this, mum and dad treated us to an amazing meal out at Buitenverwachting in Constantia. And ‘beyond expectation’ it sure was – click on their official website link here (not that this post is in any way sponsored – the meal was actually Very Pricey in a touristy way but well worth it)!

What made it worth it? Well, the setting, for one thing. It’s truly beautiful, from the local table décor (Husband and dad were convinced the Protea/pincushion flowers were too pretty to be real) to the green Constantia valley it’s nestled in.

The “added foodie bits” are also beyond expectation – simply order your food and drink and you also receive freshly baked bread and spreads to start you off, as well as an amuse-bouche (ours was a kudu/tart apple slice/pomegranate salad concoction that photographed too blurrily for the blog, alas), a sorbet palate cleanser (only get this one if you’ve ordered starters, mind) AND a selection of mini desserts for the table when you’re done, all completely free. See from my photos below.

Husband's "poor brave me being out and about when I'm ill" face
Husband’s “poor brave me being out and about when I’m ill” face
Pretty (real, not fake) table flowers
Pretty (real, not fake) table flowers
Husband and I, 'having a time' - hopefully the last time I'll need to wear a woolly winter scarf this year
Husband and I, ‘having a time’ – hopefully the last time I’ll need to wear a woolly winter scarf this year
The olive roll I selected, along with some flavoured butters and cheese spreads
The olive roll I selected, along with some flavoured butters and cheese spreads
My burger - one of the best in Cape Town. It was small but delectable. Fresh herby patty, all sorts of salsa-y sauces, and wonderful chips on the side
My burger – one of the best in Cape Town. It was small but delectable. Fresh herby patty, all sorts of salsa-y sauces, and wonderful chips on the side
My marvellous burger
My marvellous burger
Misty mountain that kept capturing my attention and (poor, ill) Husband with his fish n chips
Misty mountain that kept capturing my attention and (poor, ill) Husband with his fish n chips
This here bottle was almost half the bill - Husband and I both had a sip despite being on meds.
This here bottle was almost half the bill – Husband and I both had a sip despite being on meds.
Mum and me with our post-meal coffees. We made sad faces when we noticed our saucers were big enough for a dunking biscuit but none appeared...
Mum and me with our post-meal coffees. We made sad faces when we noticed our saucers were big enough for a dunking biscuit but none appeared…
...Only to be presented with this sweet platter of treats. Dad's fist is there both to show size and that we almost had to 'rock paper scissors' over who had which treat. It's also the only pic of him this week. There was even a 'strawberry-covered-chocolate', teehee! (Husband valiantly and nobly stepped back so it was just between the three of us. We shared most of it)
…Only to be presented with this sweet platter of treats. Dad’s fist is there both to show size and that we almost had to ‘rock paper scissors’ over who had which treat. It’s also the only pic of him this week. There was even a ‘strawberry-covered-chocolate’, teehee! (Husband valiantly and nobly stepped back so it was just between the three of us. We shared most of it)

And just because we had a fancy lunch, Bertie decided to treat himself to whatever he could find around the house. So we shamed him on Facebook, as you do…

Sun's so bright you can hardly see us, but Bertie's decidedly pleased with himself in this photo, not shamed at all (you can see the navy lunchbox behind him that he carefully carried out through the doggy door before opening and eating the two sandwiches inside. As well as a Jungle Oats bar and a packet of dry, uncooked 2-minute noodles)
Sun’s so bright you can hardly see us, but Bertie’s decidedly pleased with himself in this photo, not shamed at all (you can see the navy lunchbox behind him that he carefully carried out through the doggy door before opening and eating the two sandwiches inside. As well as a Jungle Oats bar and a packet of dry, uncooked 2-minute noodles)

Then Sunday was all about spaghetti and sunsets at mum’s… and just because Husband dared me that I ‘wouldn’t dare’ dye my hair purple after I commented on a photo of someone who’d done so in a newspaper, I did:

Doesn't it look positively delightful? It really was as good - if not better - than it looks
Doesn’t it look positively delightful? It really was as good – if not better – than it looks
Sunset palm trees near home
Sunset palm trees near home
Sunday's sunset skies
Sunday’s sunset skies
It's more a dark rinse/dip dye of the ends but here you can see the purple hair. Will do a more thorough job this weekend to seal the deal, mwahaha (evil laugh)
It’s more a dark rinse/dip dye of the ends but here you can see the purple hair. Will do a more thorough job this weekend to seal the deal, mwahaha (evil laugh)

Lastly, just because I mentioned that I focus on sunset and hardly ever catch sunrise in last week’s blog post… Husband pointed out that I actually do see the sun rise every single weekday on the commute to work as I prefer the early shift – give the man a prize, he’s right as rain. I just don’t notice it as I tend to have my eyes closed during the trip while in the passenger seat. Here’s what I saw this morning on my way in (between 06:30 and 07:00am, GMT+2 for my international readers) – was perhaps especially stunning as there’d been a supermoon earlier in the week (yes, shamelessly promoting my work in that supermoon slideshow link)…

Cloudy sky above, fiery sun rising below. Beautiful
Cloudy sky above, fiery sun rising below. Beautiful
The irony! Rising sun illuminating a lighting shop on the right
The irony! Rising sun illuminating a lighting shop on the right
Sun seemingly caught in the trees
Sun seemingly caught in the trees
View from office window (it makes a lovely frame)
View from office window (it makes a lovely frame)

Amazing what you notice if you keep your eyes (and mind) open!

One thought on “Grey skies, orange suns and purple hair”

Leave a Reply

