Bertie’s fifth birthday and lonesome Durban beachfront delights

This past week has flown by in the blink of an eye for me (literally flown, as you’ll see). Not only did I spend many hours last weekend working, finishing off the bulk of my article’s from the previous week’s Design Indaba, but I also had a 6a.m. business flight to Durban for a special pre-Loeries sightseeing tour on Monday morning, back in the lovely Cape on Tuesday afternoon. We also have dad-in-law and a friend of his staying with us at the moment, as they drove down yesterday from Joburg for this weekend’s fire-shortened Argus. Lots of fun, but rather exhausting, and so, without further ado…

Saturday, 28 February 2015: Col’Cacchio breakfast, Buena Vista Social Cafe drinks

Did you know Col'Cacchio at Canal Walk now serves breakfast? Neither did we. These flapjacks were delightful.
Did you know Col’Cacchio at Canal Walk now serves breakfast? Neither did we. These flapjacks were delightful.
Loved the table setting at Col'Cacchio on Saturday morning - brown paper and cheekily labelled salt n pepper
Loved the table setting at Col’Cacchio on Saturday morning – brown paper and cheekily labelled salt n pepper
I believe Husband's was called The Classic, with extra rashers of bacon.
I believe Husband’s was called The Classic, with extra rashers of bacon.
To celebrate being ALMOST done for the day with work, we popped out in the afternoon to visit the Buena Vista Social Cafe at Eden on the Bay - that's a chocolate-y something cocktail.
To celebrate being ALMOST done for the day with work, we popped out in the afternoon to visit the Buena Vista Social Cafe at Eden on the Bay – that’s a chocolate-y something cocktail.
Husband went for a Long Island Ice Tea, his standard cocktail
Husband went for a Long Island Ice Tea, his standard cocktail
Gazing out at all the kite surfers at Eden on the Bay - they really love the windy conditions
Gazing out at all the kite surfers at Eden on the Bay – they really love the windy conditions

Sunday, 1 March 2015: Bertie’s fifth birthday, pink skies at night

Both doglets getting attention from their grampa on Bertie's birthday, when we visited for brunch instead of the  usual lupper visit as I had to be in bed almost before the sun set for my flight the next morning
Both doglets getting attention from their grampa on Bertie’s birthday, when we visited for brunch instead of the usual lupper as I had to be in bed almost before the sun set for my flight the next morning
Bassie acting like a meerkat, standing up to lick the left-over dregs from the yoghurt tubs. So sweet.
Bassie acting like a meerkat, standing up to lick the left-over dregs from the yoghurt tubs. So sweet.
Bertie reading (and licking) his birthday card from Granny and Grampa when we got home that afternoon
Bertie reading (and licking) his birthday card from Granny and Grampa when we got home that afternoon
The standard 'birthday hat' Andrews family pose. Bertie grinned, you can't really see it in this shot though, but the others were all blurred so this will have to do!
The standard ‘birthday hat’ Andrews family pose. Bertie grinned, you can’t really see it in this shot though, but the others were all blurred so this will have to do!
My Old Fashioned Waffle at the Big Bay Waffle Company, accompanied by a banoffee shake for me and a white chocolate one for Husband
My Old Fashioned Waffle at the Big Bay Waffle Company, accompanied by a banoffee shake for me and a white chocolate one for Husband
Ha! Funny shot of me tucking  into my waffle
Ha! Funny shot of me tucking into my waffle
Look how tiny Husband's mostly-eaten schwarma looks at this angle. I love the cartoon sheep of our local Schwarma Express...
Look how tiny Husband’s mostly-eaten schwarma for Sunday dins looks at this angle. I love the cartoon sheep of our local Schwarma Express…
The first pink-streaky sky I've photographed from the 'new' house (even though we've lived here over 3 months now. Oops). This was just before I went to sleep.
The first pink-streaky sky I’ve photographed from the ‘new’ house (even though we’ve lived here over 3 months now. Oops). This was just before I went to sleep.

Monday, 2 March 2015: Flight to Durban before the sun came up

20150302_052355See how dark the sky was behind me, when Husband dropped me off at the airport on Monday morning? My first ever flight by myself
See how dark the sky was behind me, when Husband dropped me off at the airport on Monday morning? My first ever flight by myself
This photo doesn't do it justice - you're looking at a giant whale mural in King Shaka Airport.
This photo doesn’t do it justice – you’re looking at a giant whale mural when you finally walk into King Shaka Airport.
You know by now that I love a good cappuccino - this version, served with a skinny biscotti on the side at the Durban ICC, was just what I needed after the early flight and excitement of being in another city had sunk in...
You know by now that I love a good cappuccino – this version, served with a skinny biscotti on the side at the Durban ICC, was just what I needed after the early flight and excitement of being in another city had sunk in…
There's a tree growing through the middle of the Durban ICC"s parking lot, did you know?
There’s a tree growing through the middle of the Durban ICC”s parking lot, did you know?
It's the recently renovated Southern Sun Elangeni-Maharani - the wave-shaped one on Durban's main beachfront
It’s the recently renovated Southern Sun Elangeni-Maharani – the wave-shaped one on Durban’s main beachfront
I loved the flowers in the hotel lobby
I loved the flowers in the hotel lobby
Oh look! A welcome note with complimentary bottle of red grape juice and pack of dried fruit and nuts was waiting for me (and Hemingly rabbit and Nelly the Ellie) when we finally checked into our room on the 20th floor of the Southern Sun Elangeni-Maharani
Oh look! A welcome note with complimentary bottle of red grape juice and pack of dried fruit and nuts was waiting for me (and Hemingly rabbit and Nelly the Eelie) when we finally checked into our room on the 20th floor of the Southern Sun Elangeni-Maharani
Then we looked down at the view...
Then we looked down at the view…
The view from my room. Not too shabby, and definitely different to the Cape coastline
The view from my room. Not too shabby, but definitely different to the Cape coastline
When in Durban... spiced pineapple, just one of the lovely finger foods I ate on Monday night
When in Durban… spiced pineapple, just one of the lovely finger foods I ate on Monday night

Tuesday, 3 March 2015: Hottest day in Cape Town in 100 years

Some colourful Durban graffiti
Some colourful Durban graffiti I noticed on a pre-breakfast walk to dip my feet in the sea the next morning
That's not the white icing sugar/small pebble type sand I'm used to!
That’s not the white icing sugar/small pebble-type sand I’m used to!
What a wonderful breakfast setting - on the second floor of the Elangeni. It's poolside, with a view of the beachfront just beyond the edge of the infinity pool.
What a wonderful breakfast setting – on the second floor of the Elangeni. It’s poolside, with a view of the beachfront just beyond the edge of the infinity pool.
Homebound! Flying's not my favourite activity due to years of airsickness in years past, but I was so excited to be heading home to my loved ones that I had to take a photo or two
Homebound! Flying’s not my favourite activity due to airsickness in years past, but I was so excited to be heading home to my loved ones that I had to take a photo or two once we were allowed to switch on electronic devices
I was just behind the wing, so got to marvel at all the shades of blue from 30,000 feet above
I was just behind the wing, so got to marvel at all the shades of blue from roughly 30,000 feet above
The first thing we did that evening was hit the beach, as Cape Town was the hottest city in the world that day, recording temps of 42' C in some places. Here is Husband at his favourite swimming spot...
The first thing we did that evening was hit the beach, as Cape Town was the hottest city in the world that day, recording temps of 42′ C in some places. Here is Husband at his favourite swimming spot…
Everyone and their dog was at the beach. That's the smoke of the awful Table Mountain fire just under the cloud to the left
Everyone and their dog was at the beach. Along with stacks of seagulls on the rocks. That’s the smoke of the awful Table Mountain fire just under the cloud to the left
Dazzling sunset - that's Husband waving after jumping in from the rocks.
Dazzling sunset – that’s Husband waving after jumping in from the rocks.

That’s all, folks… lots of relaxation on the cards for this weekend, watch this space! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

