My 21st + 10 (gasp!) birthday bakes, cakes and shakes

Yes, it’s true, I’ve aged. It’s funny, waking up and knowing I was suddenly not 30 but IN my thirties was quite the revelation. I felt old. Tired. Achy. It’s all downhill from here, folks! I joke, I joke. It’s just the pre-arthritic fingers that give me pain when I over-type. And if I manage 10 hours of sleep a night, I wake feeling relatively rested ๐Ÿ˜‰ Birthdays pass by in a blur these days as there are so many phone calls, phone messages, emails and Facebook posts to reply to that you spend much of the day chatting away and not really doing – which is a fine way to spend the day, of course, as you’ll see below…

Saturday, 14 February 2015: Valentine’s Day for most

Just because we don't celebrate the official Valentine's Day (because my birthday's the day after and Husband's is two weeks prior) doesn't mean we don't still treat ourselves to nice things. Here is my R25 sunshine breakfast from our local Foodlover's Market - yes, R25 including the cappuccino!
Just because we don’t celebrate the official Valentine’s Day (because my birthday’s the day after and Husband’s is two weeks prior) doesn’t mean we don’t still treat ourselves to nice things. Here is my R25 sunshine breakfast from our local Foodlover’s Market – yes, R25 including the cappuccino!
Husband opted for his favourite haloumi toast stack with a Coke, to start his weekend on the right note
Husband opted for his favourite haloumi toast stack with a Coke, to start his weekend on the right note
Husband having a draught at the Boardhouse on the beachfront
Husband having a draught at the Boardhouse on the beachfront
20150214_161446
Telling Bassie just because I’m not sharing my almond croissant and coffee with her, doesn’t mean I don’t love her. She’s not convinced…
On with the patio installation! Here is Husband, climbing down the ladder after securing the first length of opal white covering
On with the patio installation! Here is Husband, climbing down the ladder after securing the first length of opal white covering
And another panel up!
And another panel up!
Amost done! Doesn't it look smart!
Almost done! Doesn’t it look smart!

Sunday, 15 February 2015: My 21st (+10)

How do you celebrate your 31st birthday? With a chocolatey breakfast, of course. This is my cappuccino from Cocoa Wah wah
How do you celebrate your 31st birthday? With a chocolatey breakfast, of course. This is my cappuccino from Cocoa Wah wah
The French Kiss - it's French toast topped with hot chocolatey sauce and flaked almonds. Delicious.
The French Kiss – it’s French toast topped with hot chocolatey sauce and flaked almonds. Delicious.
Husband about to tuck into his Supreme croissant, complete with poached eggs, avo and ham. (Plus a breakfast Coke)
Husband about to tuck into his Supreme croissant, complete with poached eggs, avo and ham. (Plus a breakfast Coke)
After my Typo shopping spree we stopped at Hudson's Claremont. Husband had this here draught...
After my Typo shopping spree we stopped at Hudson’s Claremont. Husband had this here draught…
Glug glug, down the hatch!
Glug glug, down the hatch!
I had the house made fudge milkshake, complete with chunk of fudge. Gorgeously thick.
I had the house made fudge milkshake, complete with chunk of fudge. Gorgeously thick.
Just some of my Typo birthday treats
Just some of my Typo birthday treats
Thoughtful, beautiful, delightful birthday spoils from Mum n Dad...
Thoughtful, beautiful, delightful birthday spoils from Mum n Dad…
Just LOOK at this gorgeous spectacular cake Mum baked for me! It was a red AND blue marbled velvet cake inside, with cream cheese frosting. Vanished rather fast at work the next day, along with a box of Italian cream puffs
Just LOOK at this gorgeous spectacular cake Mum baked for me! It was a red AND blue marbled velvet cake inside, with cream cheese frosting. Vanished rather fast at work the next day, along with a box of Italian cream puffs
See the chocolatey red and blue marbledness.
See the chocolatey red and blue marbledness.
Mom also made this brandy tart with whipped cream. So yum!
Mom also made this brandy tart with whipped cream. So yum!
The standard Andrews family  'wearing a birthday hat and getting a birthday kiss on the cheek photo
The standard Andrews family ‘wearing a birthday hat and getting a birthday kiss on the cheek’ photo

Thursday, 19 February 2015: Tea at the Colosseum Hotel and the building begins…

I attended a wonderful workshop on the neuroscience of email marketing at the Colosseum Hotel in Century City - delicious Rooibos tea with honey and some of the tea time snacks
I attended a wonderful workshop on the neuroscience of email marketing at the Colosseum Hotel in Century City – delicious Rooibos tea with honey and some of the tea time snacks
And when I got home, the big concrete bricks that'll become our front wall (meaning we'll have a front garden, too!) had been delivered and stacked. Building should start next week, so watch this space for progress...
And when I got home, the big concrete bricks that’ll become our front wall (meaning we’ll have a front garden, too!) had been delivered and stacked. Building should start next week, so watch this space for progress…

Friday, 20 February 2015: Double bubblegum luck

While waiting for the train to arrive after work, I decided to chew on one of the bubblegums I'd tucked into my bag... and for the first time ever had a double wrapper - not a repeat, so double the facts to read while waiting ;)
While waiting for the train to arrive after work, I decided to chew on one of the bubblegums I’d tucked into my bag… and for the first time ever had a double wrapper – not a repeat, so double the facts to read while waiting ๐Ÿ˜‰

That’s all, folks… lekker naweek!

3 thoughts on “My 21st + 10 (gasp!) birthday bakes, cakes and shakes”

Leave a Reply

