Jambo Jamaican jollies and mint mask parties with Joburg friends

I have taken far too many photos since my last update on Christmas, so have reigned myself in and held over everything post-2014 for an extra update later this week, so that the next one will have a fresh focus on 2015.

You’ve probably heard the standard Capetonian grumble by now that one of the worst things about December in Cape Town is that everyone and his aunt comes down to enjoy the glorious weather, so locals experience a price jolt and all their favourite places are packed. Luckily, this isn’t all bad news as it’s often your beloved family or friends who are part of the visiting crowd. That’s why we were ever so so pleased to hear that two of our former colleagues and one of my schoolmates who I’ve known for over two decades would be on our shores after Christmas, as it meant we could plan a few fun catch-up visits – over the weekend and evenings no less, as I was working from home throughout the silly season.

But I won’t dwell on that. Without further ado, I present to you…

Saturday, 27 December 2014: Jamaica Me Crazy with the Joburg friends

We started the day at our favourite local breakfast place - Bread & Butter. Dad says I always look so excited to see my food and coffee arrive - I am! :)
We started the day at our favourite local breakfast place – Bread & Butter. Dad says I always look so excited to see my food and coffee arrive – I am! πŸ™‚
Finally it was time to meet old friends at Jamaica Me Crazy in Woodstock. We'd been before for cocktails, this time we ate too
Finally it was time to meet old friends at Jamaica Me Crazy in Woodstock. We’d been before for cocktails, this time we ate too
One of the pretty murals outside
One of the pretty murals outside
Love the bright birdies painted on this wall
Love the bright birdies painted on this wall
No visit to Jamaica Me Crazy is complete without a Volcano - pina colada swirled with strawberry daquiri - and just R18 all day on Saturdays!
No visit to Jamaica Me Crazy is complete without a Volcano – pina colada swirled with strawberry daquiri – and just R18 all day on Saturdays!
Artwell said he was trying to photobomb me here. He succeeded
Artwell said he was trying to photobomb me here. He succeeded
If you think these look delicious, it's 'nacho' fault - they really were good ;)
If you think these look delicious, it’s ‘nacho’ fault – they really were good πŸ˜‰
Hahaha! Artwell and Husband hamming it up for the camera
Hahaha! Artwell and Husband hamming it up for the camera
The Cambiers were also in attendance
The Cambiers were also in attendance
Later that afternoon we took the doggies for a walk to the local park as it was just too windy for the beach
Later that afternoon we took the doggies for a walk to the local park as it was just too windy for the beach
Little Bassie telling me to hurry up and stop taking photos so we could beat her dad and brother back home
Little Bassie telling me to hurry up and stop taking photos so we could beat her dad and brother back home

Sunday, 28 December: Chilli con carne dogs and toffee shakes

Husband enjoyed his chili con carne-topped dog at Joe's Diner in Canal Walk - with onion rings, chips and Coke, of course. Those are not vampire teeth, they're stringy onion rings trying to escape. I had a toffee milkshake, is one of my favourites
Husband enjoyed his chili con carne-topped dog at Joe’s Diner in Canal Walk – with onion rings, chips and Coke, of course. Those are not vampire teeth, they’re stringy onion rings trying to escape. I had a toffee milkshake, is one of my favourites

Monday, 29 December 2014: post-work beach visits

Spotted this heart made of shells when we went for a beach walk once I was done with work for the day. So sweet.
Spotted this heart made of shells when we went for a beach walk once I was done with work for the day. So sweet.
Warm rock pools are perfect for dipping tired feet into
Warm rock pools are perfect for dipping tired feet into

Tuesday, 30 December 2014: Pamper party!

One of my former schoolmates was down in Cape Town visiting her sister for the holidays, and just so happened to be demonstrating the new range of Herbalife Skin products - me, Husband, mum and dad just so happened to be free to attend said demonstration. Here we all are wearing the minty mud mask...
One of my former schoolmates was down in Cape Town visiting her sister for the holidays, and just so happened to be demonstrating the new range of Herbalife Skin products – me, Husband, mum and dad just so happened to be free to attend said demonstration. Here we all are wearing the minty mud mask…
Here's a comparison of Husband, before and after the demonstration, which included cleanser, toner, moisturiser, minty mud mask and eye gel. You decide whether the difference is due to lighting or the products' super powers. If you're interested in attending a pamper party like this, contact Miriam on 083 226 2109 - - say I sent you! She's lovely :)
Here’s a comparison of Husband, before and after the demonstration, which included cleanser, toner, moisturiser, minty mud mask and eye gel. You decide whether the difference is due to lighting or the products’ super powers. Ooh, and here’s a punt – if you’re interested in attending a pamper party like this, contact Miriam on 083 226 2109 – say I sent you! She’s lovely πŸ™‚

That’s all for now, folks! Chapter closed on 2014, next blog post to follow sooner than the usual weekly wait, all about ringing in 2015.

2 thoughts on “Jambo Jamaican jollies and mint mask parties with Joburg friends”

  1. well the before and afters of Boys face certainly look spectacular but I do believe its the lighting too. so glad she did not post mine they were scary!

Leave a Reply

