Vampirically good Sunday sundaes and Husband has a haircut

How do you celebrate working your final Sunday shift? With a sundae, of course. A ‘Sunday sundae’, if you will. And I knew just the one I wanted when the time came to celebrate this exact event. See, when my not-quite-was-and-now-never-will-be boss told me I absolutely HAD to try the Mondiall chocolate sundae for dessert as part of our team dinner I blogged about a few weeks ago, that sundae was so good it left chocolate squiggles on my heart that have been flowing since then. Almost like a vampire’s blood lust. And sticking with the monster theme (I have purple hair, I’m allowed), the fact that my last attempt at photographing it was a no-go meant I repeated ‘Mondialllll chocolate sundaeeee’ almost zombie-like each time Husband asked what I wanted as a treat. So, I present to you…

The Mondiall chocolate sundae. Best Sunday sundae ever.

Now it may LOOK like it's just strawberries and ice cream but you can't see just how chocolatey it is. I assure you there's also caramel syrup, a nut table, chocolate biscuit bits and more swirled in there. Also, this is probably the best shot of my purple hair
Now it may LOOK like it’s just strawberries and ice cream but you can’t see just how chocolatey it is. I assure you there’s also caramel syrup, a nut table, chocolate biscuit bits and more swirled in there. Also, this is probably the best shot of my purple hair

And was it good? Was it ever. Absolutely worth the R45 price tag, and the fact that Husband could sip a draught beer in the sunshine while live jazz music smoothed us from stressy Sunday morning into soothed Sunday evening made it all the better.

But of course, that’s not all we did this weekend. In fact, my weekend was Friday and Saturday, seeing as I was working Sunday. See my other weekend highlights below, such as reliving my best French toast breakfast experience

Friday, 19 September 2014: Best French toast at Cassia, Nitida with parents

The first time my parents went to Nitida they were actually headed to the OTHER restaurant on the wine estate, much further back on the property. But Cassia is right at the entrance so they walked in and got their waitress to cancel their booking at 'the other place'. It's that good! (PS: No offence to 'the other place', we just love Cassia so much we never venture past it!)
The first time my parents went to Nitida they were actually headed to the OTHER restaurant on the wine estate, much further back on the property. But Cassia is right at the entrance so they walked in and got their waitress to cancel their booking at ‘the other place’. It’s that good! (PS: No offence to ‘the other place’, we just love Cassia so much we never venture past it!)
I love the lighting at Cassia
I love the lighting at Cassia
Delightful array of breakfast drinks - cappuccino (mine), orange juice (mom's), glass of bubbly (dad's)
Delightful array of breakfast drinks – cappuccino (mine), orange juice (mom’s), glass of bubbly (dad’s)
Yes, it was cold enough for us to sit by the fire. Right in front of it, in fact. We ended up warm as wombats. (What? Wombats live in Australia. They're warm, trust me.)
Yes, it was cold enough for us to sit by the fire. Right in front of it, in fact. We ended up warm as wombats. (What? Wombats live in Australia. They’re warm, trust me.)
Dad had a waffle with a side of bacon, as you do
Dad had a waffle with a side of bacon, as you do
My French toast with tart berry puree and a crispy bacon rasher on each. Absolutely scrumptious (and yes, sadly still wearing a scarf in September - come onnnn, Summer!)
My French toast with tart berry puree and a crispy bacon rasher on each. Absolutely scrumptious (and yes, sadly still wearing a scarf in September – come onnnn, Summer!)

Saturday, 20 September 2014: Breakfast at Damhuis in Melkbos, traintripping, Table Mountain gazing

One of my many criteria for a good breakfast cappuccino is a tasty little biscuit on the side. At Damhuis in Melkbos, said 'side biscuit' is a tiny rusk. Just perfect!
One of my many criteria for a good breakfast cappuccino is a tasty little biscuit on the side. At Damhuis in Melkbos, said ‘side biscuit’ is a tiny rusk. Just perfect!
Husband with his Benedicty breakfast at Damhuis. (But pic is more to show you his 'before' hair, so take note)...
Husband with his Benedicty breakfast at Damhuis. (But pic is more to show you his ‘before’ hair, so take note)…
I had the 'Small breakfast' - still enough to line my tummy though!
I had the ‘Small breakfast’ – still enough to line my tummy though!
For we had an adventure-filled day that included a train trip...
For we had an adventure-filled day that included a train trip…
Proof of Husband on the train (and another sneaky shot of his 'before hair')
Proof of Husband on the train (and another sneaky shot of his ‘before hair’)
Yes I know I'm positively biased towards anything purple, but aren't these flowers just darling? These are at McPherson's in Table View, I'm going to have to try recreate the look in our new garden, once we've finally moved in (Eep)
Yes I know I’m positively biased towards anything purple, but aren’t these flowers just darling? These are at McPherson’s in Table View, I’m going to have to try recreate the look in our new garden, once we’ve finally moved in (Eep)
My mountain. Anywhere I can eat good food for a good price AND see the mountain gets points from me - so McPherson's is way up on my 'favourite places' list
My mountain. Anywhere I can eat good food for a good price AND see the mountain gets points from me – so McPherson’s is way up on my ‘favourite places’ list
Bassie meets Joshi. Bassie not so sure of little people
Bassie meets Joshi. Bassie not so sure of little people

Sunday, 21 September: Doggie naps and Husband’s haircut

Doggies having nap. Sort of.
Doggies having nap. Sort of.
Doggies politely leaning on Granny's leg to let her know they'd like some of the homemade pie too (please)
Doggies politely leaning on Granny’s leg to let her know they’d like some of the homemade pie too (please)
Husband caught in the act with his mouth full of (healthy) dessert and will you look at his sweet haircut
Husband caught in the act with his mouth full of (healthy) dessert and will you look at his sweet haircut! I did tell them both to smile, promise.

No sunset pics this week alas, will atone for the lack in next post, hopefully. Over and out kids, I know I’m not the only one who is exhausted by public holidays in the middle of the week. Enjoy the coming weekend!

4 thoughts on “Vampirically good Sunday sundaes and Husband has a haircut”

  1. Lovely life in Cape Town, all we do is eat yet we dont put on the kilos at a raid rate fortunately, must do something right or its the clean air (or something) !

Leave a Reply

