A sunset so stunning even seagulls stop and stare

I love sighing at sunsets (I even have an official certificate from work to prove it. S’true). Sunrise, on the other hand, is a little harder to catch each day as I love my sleep, but I have made a concerted effort to do so before, click here for a reminder.

Still, sunsets are easier all round. And I’m by no means alone in my sunset-adoration I know, but have you ever seen a seagull astounded by the pretty colours of the sunset? We happened to catch just this sight last weekend… Yes, I know there’s no such thing as a seagull thanks to the fairly detailed eco-marine trip work treated me to earlier this year – you know what I mean though.

All in all a nice easy weekend as I was recovering from the awful head cold Mum and Dad unintentionally brought back from their Mediterranean cruise.

Saturday, 30 August 2014: Stunning sunset as we dined at Catch22, Blouberg

The seagull seemed to be asking, "Do you guys see those colours in the sky?"
The seagull seemed to be asking, “Do you guys see those colours in the sky?”
Seagull, sunset-struck. So cute.
Seagull, sunset-struck. So cute.
The sunset we saw
The sunset we saw
The magically-coloured mountain and me
The magically-coloured mountain and me
Look at THAT! A Frangelico mocha drink to soothe my sore throat
Look at THAT! A Frangelico mocha drink to soothe my sore throat
Husband had a seafood platter. JUST finished by himself
Husband had a seafood platter. JUST finished by himself
Wondrous burger - with cheese, bacon and a delightful chutney sauce. And tasty chips and super-large onion rings. Nom nom nom
Wondrous burger – with cheese, bacon and a delightful chutney sauce. And tasty chips and super-large onion rings. Nom nom nom

Sunday, 31 August 2014: Slow Sunday coffee and beach visit

My Sunday morning cappuccino, with dunking shortbread biscuit on the side, summery sunshine and the weekend paper. Bliss. All sold at Reload, Parklands
My Sunday morning cappuccino, with dunking shortbread biscuit on the side, summery sunshine and the weekend paper. Bliss. All sold at Reload, Parklands
We went to the beach! Not sure if it helped me dry up, but the sensation of sleeping under the sun (sure, through a UV-blocking umbrella, but still) was just what I needed.
We went to the beach! Not sure if it helped me dry up, but the sensation of sleeping under the sun (sure, through a UV-blocking umbrella, but still) was just what I needed.
Husband also enjoyed drying off (literally, as he'd gone mussel-catching and swam in the sea)
Husband also enjoyed drying off (literally, as he’d gone mussel-catching and swam in the sea)

Monday, 1 September 2014: Celebrating Spring Day with chocolatey coffee at work

This I'll miss! Clever coffee machine at work that has a chocchiato option
This I’ll miss! Clever coffee machine at work that has a chocchiato option
There it is! Steaming mug of flavour. Mmm.
There it is! Steaming mug of flavour. Mmm.

Almost time for the next weekend of tastes and experiences – starting to feel better so of course I can’t wait!

blog-signature3

2 thoughts on “A sunset so stunning even seagulls stop and stare”

  1. what beautiful sunsets you saw, we need to get out and about more at this time of day! Cape Town and its mountain are really magical! just love it here.

Leave a Reply

