Airport goodbyes and dogs that eat wood

Last weekend was a bittersweet one as we took my parents to the airport for their much-anticipated, well-deserved Mediterranean cruise to celebrate Mom’s 60th birthday this coming week – shh! Don’t tell her I told you! πŸ˜‰ So while we were super excited on their behalf (especially as Husband is quite the aviation fanatic, as I’m sure you know)… it was also sad for us – mainly that we couldn’t go with, but also because we’re so used to seeing them every few days and having them just a WhatsApp message away when advice is needed (and this week LOTS of advice has been needed… but that’s a topic for another post).

So Saturday was all about the airport – Husband even took a video of the parents’ plane taking off for Johannesburg, where they spent a night with mom’s sweet family before flying on to Paris and Italy – click here to see it!

But before that was a wonderful late-Friday farewell work lunch with my fantastic current colleagues before weΒ went our separate ways – and as luck would have it, we ate at the Fireman’s Arms, which I already knew made a marvellous Dom Pedro, so Dom Pedro I did:

Kahlua Dom Pedro. Of course I munched on the garnish, too
Kahlua Dom Pedro. Of course I munched on the garnish, too

And to eat? An enormous bacon cheese burger with fries (I ate EVERY. SINGLE chip/speck of relish and polished off the burger… in fact, that’s all I ate that day!)

Look at THAT for a burger! Actually had to smoosh it all together to fit in my mouth, and in the end even that didn't work so I ate the bottom bit of roll separately to save on mouth-space, lol
Look at THAT for a burger! Actually had to smoosh it all together to fit in my mouth, and in the end even that didn’t work so I ate the bottom bit of roll separately to save on mouth-space, lol
Just look at the striking clouds on my commute home last Friday
Just look at the striking clouds on my commute home last Friday
You know I love me some pretty pink clouds - this is what I saw when I got home
You know I love me some pretty pink clouds – this is what I saw when I got home
Sun-kissed streaky clouds above my palm tree
Sun-kissed streaky clouds above my palm tree

Sunset skies are the perfect start to a weekend. And then the weekend began! Here’s what we did, starting with the airport:

Waiting patiently with my Spur breakfast (there was more to it than just jammy toast, obvs) in front of the plane that would whisk the parents away
Waiting patiently with my Spur breakfast (there was more to it than just jammy toast, obvs) in front of the plane that would whisk the parents away
Husband demonstrating just how many mini-margarine tubs we were given for our Airport Spur breakfast (Just enough to properly butter 4 slices of toast, in case you're wondering)
Husband demonstrating just how many mini-margarine tubs we were given for our Airport Spur breakfast (Just enough to properly butter 4 slices of toast, in case you’re wondering)
We waited and waited and waited... and then we saw them! My parents! Heading through the walkway onto the plane! Mom in front and dad following, as you can see
We waited and waited and waited… and then we saw them! My parents! Heading through the walkway onto the plane! Mom in front and dad following, as you can see

Sunday was a relaxing day filled with warm-feeling-flooding-your-body things like a wine farm breakfast at Poplars Restaurant in D’Aria Wine Estate (which is where we did our very first wine tasting when we first moved down, click here for a reminder), as well as afternoon cake and lolling about in front of the fire as it turned rainy, as you’ll see below…

Just to show you how cold it was, based on my Ugg-ly outfit (and I was still cold, should have taken thick jacket along)
Just to show you how cold it was, based on my Ugg-ly outfit (and I was still cold, should have taken thick jacket along)
Delicious breakfast cappuccino at Poplars, the restaurant at D'Aria Wine Estate on the very outskirts of Durbanville
Delicious breakfast cappuccino at Poplars, the restaurant at D’Aria Wine Estate on the very outskirts of Durbanville
Tabasco-ing his Eggs Benedict. Note: This Tabasco sauce-fetish (we go through a bottle a week on average at home) is the reason our doggy is named Tabasco and also why I've always suspected he's not of this world (fans of the TV series Roswell will understand)
Tabasco-ing his Eggs Benedict. Note: This Tabasco sauce-fetish (we go through a bottle a week on average at home) is the reason our doggy is named Tabasco and also why I’ve always suspected he’s not of this world (fans of the TV series Roswell will understand)
Love the expressions on all three of their faces as they warm themselves in front of the fire! Teehee
Love the expressions on all three of their faces as they warm themselves in front of the fire! Teehee
Your eyes do not deceive you. Bertie decided the firewood was delicious and started gnawing it while his dad was adding logs to the fire.
Your eyes do not deceive you. Bertie decided the firewood was delicious and started gnawing it while his dad was adding logs to the fire.

That’s all for now, folks… looks like we’re in for a few summery sunshine days so expect lots of happy pics in my next post!

One thought on “Airport goodbyes and dogs that eat wood”

Leave a Reply

