Introducing the ghost of Blouberg beachfront

Everybody loves a good ghost story, especially if you’re huddled around a roaring campfire. Not near a set of twigs and flint? Oh well, the light from your laptop screen will have to do. Here goes…

None of the research I’ve conducted into ‘Cape Town ghosts’ shows that there’s been a sighting in the Table View/Blouberg area yet, though there was a ghost ship spotted close by in Milnerton (click here to find out more) – so I conclude that the lack of evidence must just mean I have super strong ghost sensing skills.

See, last Saturday Husband woke with a rumbling tum, of the ‘must have a buffet breakfast’ variety. Luckily we have one such option just a few minutes from home, at Doodles on Blouberg Beach. So we set off to Doodles, filled out plates, took a few foodie shots as per usual, and left.

It was only on scrolling through the photos we’d taken much later in the afternoon that I noted the ‘ghost’ – Husband thinks it’s a trick of the eye or camera, I’m not so sure.

Here’s the view from Doodles – see pretty rainbow?

Gloomy sky when we sat at Doodles
Gloomy sky when we sat at Doodles

Then here we see the ghostie. He/she’s actually in the first photo too, look again…

Aah, lovely rainbow... then your eyes are drawn to the funny ghostie figure. What IS that? Husband's convinced it's the reflection of something behind us but the section of Doodles we sat in was empty apart from us...
Aah, lovely rainbow… then your eyes are drawn to the funny ghostie figure. What IS that? Husband’s convinced it’s the reflection of something behind us but the section of Doodles we sat in was empty apart from us…

Enlarged for your horror…

See? It's like a gremlin/ghoul thing with its arms raised above its head
See? It’s like a gremlin/ghoul thing with its arms raised above its head

If you do have another explanation, please share in the comments section below! This is what the rest of breakfast looked like:

First course - cappuccino and crunchy muesli cereal things with yoghurt
First course – cappuccino and crunchy muesli cereal things with yoghurt
Second course - toast with scrammlies, bacon and warmed crumpets. The wetness on plate is neither steam nor tears of happiness but instead rain as our enclosed eating section was nowhere near the buffet plating section.
Second course – toast with scrammlies, bacon and warmed crumpets. The wetness on plate is neither steam nor tears of happiness but instead rain as our enclosed eating section was nowhere near the buffet plating section.

Tummy full, my ghost-sensing brain wasn’t satisfied so later that afternoon we drove slowly past the ‘no entry’ sign where we’d first seen the ghostie but it was nowhere to be seen. And seeing as we were in the area, we had a mini-adventure in Big Bay, with drinks at Saints Burgers in Eden on the Bay (the burgers do look delectable – click here for the menu – so I’m sure we’ll be back to try them when we’re feeling more flush with cash!), followed by experimenting with the big yellow ‘National Geographic’ photo frame just in front of it.

Trying a chocolate cookie shake at Saints, Eden on the Bay. So delicious, like an Oreo McFlurry mixed with chocolate ice cream. Plus they gave me a tartan blanket (which you can just see - the white and grey one clashing fashionably with my purple tartan scarf) to keep toasty
Trying a chocolate cookie shake at Saints, Eden on the Bay. So delicious, like an Oreo McFlurry mixed with chocolate ice cream. Plus they gave me a tartan blanket (which you can just see – the white and grey one clashing fashionably with my purple tartan scarf) to keep toasty
Of course Husband tried a beer instead. He enjoyed his Jack Black
Of course Husband tried a beer instead. He enjoyed his Jack Black
Tada! Result of the Nat Geo photo frame: Winter-me in front of the mountain (Winter me is quite different to Summer me)
Tada! Result of the Nat Geo photo frame: Winter-me in front of the mountain (Winter me is quite different to Summer me)
This is how it was taken
This is how it was taken

And of course we ate even more the next day, especially as it was time for the monthly lunch buffet at the Italian Cub in Milnerton. You’re just not Italian if lunch isn’t a three-hour long affair (I am a quarter Italian so this was my ideal lunch)…

Coffee shake at the Italian Club
Coffee shake at the Italian Club
Mum, dad and me waiting for the starters to be declared ready for consumption at the Italian Club
Mum, dad and me waiting for the starters to be declared ready for consumption at the Italian Club
We took many versions of this selfie, but this is my favourite - yes, while waiting for the go ahead to queue for yummy Italian food
We took many versions of this selfie, but this is my favourite – yes, while waiting for the go ahead to queue for yummy Italian food
Mmmm delicious pasta. This was between the cheesy starters and meaty main course.
Mmmm delicious pasta. This was between the cheesy starters and meaty main course.
Dessert! If you know me, you know I love dessert. This was my first bowlfull
Dessert! If you know me, you know I love dessert. This was my first bowlfull
Even more sweet treats going down the gullet
Even more sweet treats going down the gullet
Nom nom nom!
Nom nom nom!

That’s all for now, folks – let me know your thoughts on the ghostly snap, and click here to read the ‘ghostly’ short story I wrote many moons ago – it’s not scary at all, I promise :).

6 thoughts on “Introducing the ghost of Blouberg beachfront”

  1. I think the ‘ghost’ may be a smudge on the window Leigh. That would account for the change in position in the second shot, as a slight change in angle would have a more drastic affect if the ‘ghost’ is close to the camera. Great post as always. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. wow what a lovely weekend in the chilly cold of winter and not a bowl of soup in sight! Ghosty is freaky!!!

Leave a Reply

