The next best thing to a long weekend…

To me, the next best thing to a lovely long weekend like the last one is a lovely normal weekend that actually feels like it was two full days off. Lately it seems like I blink at home time on a Friday and suddenly find myself stuck in Sunday evening ‘Derick Watts & the Sunday Blues’ territory (real band name, I take no credit for it).

That’s why I was so pleased to wake up this past Sunday thinking it was Monday, only to discover we still had a full day of fun ahead. Maybe the weekend felt longer to me because we started the ‘festivities’ a little early, by having dinner at the local Indian restaurant on Thursday evening to celebrate payday week… The Indian Chapter Restaurant is rated very highly on EatOut and Trip Advisor, and with some blustery, drizzly weather setting in it was the perfect choice:

Thursday, 27 March: The Indian Chapter, Blouberg

Enjoying my masala chai... and the painting behind me
Enjoying my masala chai… and the painting behind me
Look at that face! Loved his hot chicken madras. Only likes curry of the 'too hot for regular people' variety
Look at that face! Loved his hot chicken madras. Only likes curry of the ‘too hot for regular people’ variety

PS: Bonus: The Indian Chapter Restaurant is run by pretty Prim Reddy, who we recognised from TV:

Prim and I outside her restaurant. Excuse the purple trackshoot - it was cold. And I like purple
Prim and I outside her restaurant. Excuse the purple trackshoot – it was cold. And I like purple

Saturday, 29 March: Cocktails at Jamaica Me Crazy; T20 cricket viewing at home with Chris and Diane (now engaged!); Earth Hour

Goodness golly gracious me. If you love cocktails and live in Cape Town, get yourself to Jamaica Me Crazy in Upper Woodstock, stat! The jalapeno poppers were OK but the happy hour cocktails for R18 were amazing (even better, happy hour is ALL DAY on Saturdays!) That's a stunningly swirled volcano (slushy mix of pina colada and strawberry daiquiri) and a blue Hurricane in front of us
Goodness golly gracious me. If you love cocktails and live in Cape Town, get yourself to Jamaica Me Crazy in Upper Woodstock, stat! The jalapeno poppers were OK but the happy hour cocktails for R18 were amazing (even better, happy hour is ALL DAY on Saturdays!) That’s a stunningly swirled volcano (slushy mix of pina colada and strawberry daiquiri) and a blue Hurricane in front of us
See how Bertie's grinning? He was plotting how to reach the chippy snack things I'd placed out of his reach. He did later get to the chips
See how Bertie’s grinning? He was plotting how to reach the chippy snack things I’d placed out of his reach. He did later get to the chips
Bassie and mommy watching the cricket
Bassie and mommy watching the cricket
Aww. Bassie holding on tight to her new best friend, Christopher
Aww. Bassie holding on tight to her new best friend, Christopher
Bertie having tickle time with Diane. He retaliated with licks - I don't know which is worse!
Bertie having tickle time with Diane. He retaliated with licks – I don’t know which is worse!
My, but we do pull funny faces when we take selfies! Lol. This is just to show we were both wearing the 'gold and green' to support our boys - and it seemed to work, we won! Woohoo
My, but we do pull funny faces when we take selfies! Lol. This is just to show we were both wearing the ‘gold and green’ to support our boys – and it seemed to work, we won! Woohoo
We lit the colour-changing candle that Clifton gifted me for my last half-birthday, it is the prettiest thing! Goes through the full colour spectrum. Even better? It's vanilla scented. Best candle ever.
We lit the colour-changing candle that Clifton gifted me for my last half-birthday, it is the prettiest thing! Goes through the full colour spectrum. Even better? It’s vanilla scented. Best candle ever.
Daddy and baby boy dog relaxing to the gentle sounds of the Band Stand in front of the fire during Earth Hour
Daddy and baby boy dog relaxing to the gentle sounds of the Band Stand in front of the fire during Earth Hour
Sweet boy all worn out, napping on the beanbag after Earth Hour
Sweet boy all worn out, napping on the beanbag after Earth Hour

Sunday, 30 March: Window shopping and froyo eating at Tyger Valley; wave watching in Blouberg; lunch at Driftwood Cafe

I've had froyo before of course, but the flavours at Smooch in Tyger Valley are amazing! Pina Colada, Milktart, White Chocolate, etc. Mmm
I’ve had froyo before of course, but the flavours at Smooch in Tyger Valley are amazing! Pina Colada, Milktart, White Chocolate, etc. Mmm
Ahoy me mateys, it's high tide! Walking along the wet rocks at the crashing waves in front of Petit Fours in Blouberg
Ahoy me mateys, it’s high tide! Walking along the wet rocks at the crashing waves in front of Petit Fours in Blouberg
Yay! The Spring Surprise burger special was still on at Driftwood Cafe, even though Spring has come and gone. Accompanied by a long Cola for him and a deliciously incorrectly labelled peanut butter shake in a Castle glass for me
Yay! The Spring Surprise burger special was still on at Driftwood Cafe, even though Spring has come and gone. Accompanied by a long Cola for him and a deliciously incorrectly labelled peanut butter shake in a Castle glass for me

That’s all, folks! Next post will be about Bassie’s birthday, which we’re celebrating today 🙂

One thought on “The next best thing to a long weekend…”

Leave a Reply

